Memorandum on the Cooperation between DHST and DLMPS

1. Preamble

The International Union of History and Philosophy of Science (IUHPS) has two divisions, the Division of History of Science and Technology (DHST) and the Division of Logic, Methodology and Philosophy of Science (DLMPS). The two divisions have their own structures and activities. The collaboration of the two divisions in the IUHPS should be regulated by the IUHPS statutes; however, currently, the IUHPS statutes are not available. In the absence of the statutes, this memorandum describes the collaboration and coordination of the two divisions. The divisions plan to replace this memorandum either with an updated version of the IUHPS statutes or new IUHPS statutes.

2. Representation of IUHPS

2.1. The executive committee of the IUHPS consists of the President, the Vice President, the Secretary General, and the Treasurer. The offices of the executive committee are filled on a four-year cycle described in Article 2.3 and 2.4, starting on 1 January 2012.

2.2. In addition to the officers of the executive committee, each of the two divisions can appoint a member of their council as the official ICSU contact person.

2.3. During the first two calendar years of the cycle (i.e., every year divisible by four and the immediately following year), the president, secretary general and treasurer of the DHST are President, Secretary General and Treasurer of the IUHPS, respectively. The president of the DLMPS is Vice President of the IUHPS.

2.4. During the third and fourth calendar years of the cycle (i.e., every even year not divisible by four and the immediately following year), the president, secretary and treasurer of the DLMPS are President, Secretary General and Treasurer of the IUHPS, respectively. The president of the DHST is Vice President of the IUHPS.

2.5. The division whose treasurer is the Treasurer of the IUHPS in any given calendar year acts as the IUHPS treasurer with respect to the ICSU fees.

3. The Joint Commission

3.1. The two divisions agree to maintain a Joint Commission in order to enhance cooperation between them. The main responsibility of the Joint Commission is to explore research fields of mutual interest to historians and philosophers of science and technology and logicians by means of Joint Conferences and symposia on topics of mutual interest.

3.2. The members of the Joint Commission are the Chair of the Joint Commission, together with each division's President and Secretary General who serve as ex officio members.

3.3. The Chair of the Joint Commission holds office for two years, and is appointed alternately by the DHST and the DLMPS. The Chair of the Joint Commission appointed by a division takes up office at the beginning of the calendar year before the international congress of that division.

3.4. The Chair of the Joint Commission will lead the activities of the Joint Commission, and will advertise them through appropriate channels, including the Joint Commission's website. The Joint Commission's Chair uses the website of his/her Division with a mirror site at the website of the sister Division.

3.5. It is recommended that during its international congress, each division organize a session on a topic of interest for the other division. The responsibility for the organization of this session lies with the Chair of the Joint Commission in agreement with the Executive Committee of the division organizing the congress and the local organizing committee.

4. Delegations to meetings of the other division

4.1. Each division invites a delegate of the other division to their physical council or executive committee meetings. The costs of the trip are covered by the division sending the delegate.

4.2. Each division sends a representative to the congress organized by the other division. The representative attends the council meetings and meetings of the general assembly of the other division and delivers words of greeting from the sister division either in the opening session or during the meeting of the general assembly. The hosting division will cover the registration fee and the accommodation expenses of this representative.

Approved by Council of DHST, December 2012.
Approved by Council of DLMPS, January 2013.

Last updated 21 January 2013.